How to Obtain Divorce Certificates in Washington?
If you were divorced in Washington and require a copy of your divorce certificate, you might not know where you begin to get one. The divorce certificate can help you verify your identity, name change, and marital status for insurance, employment, and other legal matters. You can follow the process below to obtain one.
The Washington Department of Health handles all divorce certificates, and they issue copies upon request. They offer you a variety of ways to get them including by mail, online, by phone and by visiting them in person.
If you order by mail the processing time is three weeks. You can download the proper form here and mail it to:
Department of Health
P.O. Box 9709
Olympia, WA 98507-9709
If you order your divorce certificate online, you will get it within 2-3 business days.
If your order by phone, you will get it within 1-2 business days.
If you visit the office in person, you can get your copy the same day if before 4 p.m.
Regardless of how you order, you will need the following information:
- Your full name, address, and phone number.
- A copy of a valid photo ID.
- Full name of husband.
- Full name of wife (including maiden name).
- Date of the divorce.
- The number of copies requested.
- Your relationship with either party.
- County where the divorce took place.
You will pay a $20 non-refundable fee for mail and walk-in, and you must make checks and money orders out to DOH. For phone and online orders, the fee is $31.50.
You may also use a service like VitalChek to do an online search and request a copy of your divorce certificate through them. They offer expedited services, and you can pay with a credit card.
Another option is to contact your original divorce lawyer and get a copy from them. They are required by law to keep legal documents for some number of years. If they don’t have yours on file, they can get a copy for you.