How to Obtain Divorce Certificates in Virginia?
There comes a time when you need a copy of your divorce certificate sometimes long after you have been divorced. This document helps to verify your identity, marital status, and name change and can be used for employment, insurance, legal matters and other issues. If you were divorced in Virginia, you can obtain a copy by following the process below.
The Vermont Department of Health Vital Records office manages all vital records for the state and issues divorce certificates. You may order one in a few different ways; by mail, in person or online and you can also obtain a copy at your local DMV office.
If you order by mail, you must realize that the processing time will be 1-2 weeks. You must fill out an application and send it to.
VDH, Office of Vital Records
P.O. Box 1000
You will need the following information along with your request for a copy:
- Your full name, address, and phone number.
- A copy of a valid photo ID.
- Full name of husband.
- Full name of wife (including maiden name).
- Date of the divorce.
- The number of copies requested.
- Your relationship with either party.
- County where the divorce took place.
You can also visit them in person. They are open every Saturday from 8 a.m. until 12 p.m. excluding holidays.
You will need to pay a $12 non-refundable fee for walk-in or mail service. If you need express delivery, you can order them online for an additional fee, and you can pay by credit card.
You may also use a service like VitalChek to do an online search and request a copy of your divorce certificate through them. They offer expedited services, and you can pay with a credit card.
Another option is to contact your original divorce lawyer and get a copy from them. They are required by law to keep legal documents for some number of years. If they don’t have yours on file, they can get a copy for you.