How to Obtain Divorce Certificates in Vermont?
At some time, you may find you need a copy of your divorce certificate and it can be difficult to know where to obtain one. If you need a copy for insurance, legal, business or other purposes to verify your marital status, name change or identity you can obtain one by following the process below if you were divorced in the state of Vermont.
In Vermont, the Vital Records Office handles copies of divorce records. This office is a division of the Vermont State Archives and Records Administration. They offer an online service here where you can order them online, or you can obtain them by mail or visiting them in person. Processing time is usually 5-7 days, but they do offer expedited service. In order to start the process, you will need the following information handy to fill out the online system or paper application.
- Your full name, address, and phone number.
- A copy of a valid photo ID (driver’s license, military or state ID, passport).
- Full name of husband.
- Full name of wife (including maiden name).
- Date of the divorce.
- The number of copies requested.
- Your relationship with either party.
- County where the divorce took place.
The fee for a certified copy is $12, and if you want expedited service, you can pay an extra $14.50 per copy. You must pay the fees with a check or money order payable to Vermont De-partment of Health. You may also pay with credit card, but additional processing fees may ap-ply.
You may also use a service like VitalChek to do an online search and request a copy of your di-vorce certificate through them. They offer expedited services, and you can pay with a credit card. Additional fees may apply for expedited service.
Another option is to contact your original divorce lawyer and get a copy from them. They are required by law to keep legal documents for some number of years. If they don’t have yours on file, they can get a copy for you.