How to Obtain Divorce Certificates in Texas?
After you are divorced, you may find yourself in need of a copy of your divorce certificate to validate your name change, marital status or identity for purposes of insurance, employment, business matters or other legal issues. It can be tricky to figure out how to obtain one. If you follow the process below, you will be able to get one quickly and easily if you were divorced in Texas.
You must obtain your divorce certificate from the court clerk’s office in the courthouse where your divorce was finalized. You can search for your courthouse in Texas here.
They will require that you fill out an application and prove your identity with a photo ID (driver’s license, military or state ID or passport).
You will need the following information to obtain a copy:
- Your full name, address, and phone number.
- A copy of a valid photo ID (driver’s license, military or state ID, passport).
- Full name of husband.
- Full name of wife (including maiden name).
- Date of the divorce.
- The number of copies requested.
- Your relationship with either party.
- County where the divorce took place.
- Age of the wife when divorced.
- Age of the husband when divorced.
Some counties may offer a phone service to order as well where you can provide a credit card to pay the fees. If you order by mail, it can take up to 10-15 days for processing.
There is a $20 non-refundable fee, which must be paid when you place your order.
You may also use a service like VitalChek to do an online search and request a copy of your di-vorce certificate through them. They offer expedited services, and you can pay with a credit card. Additional fees may apply for expedited service.
Another option is to contact your original divorce lawyer and get a copy from them. They are required by law to keep legal documents for some number of years. If they don’t have yours on file, they can get a copy for you.