How to Obtain Divorce Certificates in South Carolina?
Often after you are divorced, you find you need a copy of your divorce certificate for insurance purposes, business matters, employment or legal issues to verify your name change, identity or marital status. If your divorce took place in South Carolina, you can obtain a copy by using the process below.
The South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control maintains vital records and can supply you with a copy. They offer four ways in which to get one; walk-in, mail, phone or online.
Regardless of the method you choose, you will need the following information:
- Your full name, address, and phone number.
- Your relationship with either party.
- Husband’s full name.
- Wife’s full name.
- Date of the divorce.
- County where the divorce took place.
- The number of copies and type requested.
- A valid photo ID.
If you want to apply in person, you can visit the office below between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday.
DHEC State Vital Records Office, Columbia
Address: 2600 Bull St., Columbia, SC 29201
You can order records by phone by calling 1-877-284-1008. Processing for phone orders is 5-7 business days. If you want to send your order in by mail, you can mail this form to the address above but the processing time will be 2-4 weeks.
There is a $12 non-refundable fee, which must be paid when applying for a copy. Each additional copy is another $3.
You may also use a service like VitalChek to do an online search and request a copy of your divorce certificate through them. They offer expedited services, and you can pay with a credit card. Additional fees may apply for expedited service.
Another option is to contact your original divorce lawyer and get a copy from them. They are required by law to keep legal documents for some number of years. If they don’t have yours on file, they can get a copy for you. Additional legal fees may apply if you decide to use this method.