How to Obtain Divorce Certificates in New Hampshire?
If you need to verify your marital status, name change or identity for purposes of insurance, legal matters, business or employment you will need to obtain a copy of your divorce certificate. You can do so in New Hampshire by following the process below.
The state of New Hampshire requires that anyone requesting a copy of vital records such as a divorce certificate have a “direct and tangible interest" as authorization. They also provide special information for people wishing to access records for "genealogical" reasons.
First, you will need to download a copy of the certificate application here. You will need to have the following information:
- The number of copies requested.
- Full name of the husband.
- Full name of the wife (including maiden name).
- Date of the divorce.
- Place of the divorce (county).
- A valid photocopy of your ID (driver’s license, military ID, or passport).
- Your name, address, phone number, and email address.
- Reason for the copy.
- Your signature.
After filling out the application, you can mail it to the address below with a copy of your ID.
NH Department of State
Division of Vital Records Administration
71 South Fruit Street
Concord, NH 03301-2410
You must include a check made out to Treasurer-State of New Hampshire in the amount of the total fees. The cost for the first copy is $15 and an additional $10 for each copy after.
You may also use a service like VitalChek to do an online search and request a copy of your divorce certificate through them. They offer expedited services, and you can pay with a credit card. Additional fees may apply for expedited service.
Another option is to contact your original divorce lawyer and get a copy from them. They are required by law to keep legal documents for some number of years. If they don’t have yours on file, they can get a copy for you. Additional legal fees may apply if you decide to use this method to obtain your certificate.