How to Obtain Divorce Certificates in Missouri?
Occasionally employers, insurance companies or other agencies require you to validate your marital status, name change or identity and you need a copy of your divorce certificate. If you were divorced in Missouri, you can obtain one by following the procedure below.
The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services handles document requests including copies of divorce certificates. You can download the proper form and then request the search in writing or in person.
You may visit your local county health department or mail your application to the main office at:
Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
Bureau of Vital Records
P.O. Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102
It will take 4-6 weeks to process your order. You will also need to include a stamped, self-addressed envelope that they can use to return your certificate to you.
Regardless of how you order a copy, you will need to have the following information:
- Both parties full names.
- Maiden names (if applicable).
- Date of the divorce.
- The number of copies requested.
If you do not have access to the downloadable form, you can still request a copy by sending in a written request with the information above plus the reason for the copy and your relationship to either of the parties on the certificate.
The first copy of your divorce certificate will cost $15 and another $15 for each additional copy. You can pay with a check or money order payable to “Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services.”
You can also choose to use a service like VitalChek to obtain your divorce certificate. You can search for it online, order and pay by credit card. They also offer expedited service for an additional fee. Another option is to contact your original divorce lawyer and obtain a copy from them. They are required by law to keep a copy on hand for a certain number of years. If they do not still have one, they can obtain it for you, but legal fees may apply.