How to Obtain Divorce Certificates in Minnesota?
Sometimes you have to verify your identity, name change or marital status and a good document to have is a copy of your divorce certificate. If you were divorced in Minnesota, you can obtain one by following the process below.
Minnesota does not have a dedicated department that handles divorce records, so you have to contact the county courthouse where your divorce was granted.
First, you will need to download and fill out a request form. You can find one on each county website, and they may vary slightly in content. However, you must at least have the following information handy when filling it out:
- Your name, address, phone number, and email address.
- The case or docket number if available.
- The date of the divorce.
- Full names of both parties (including maiden names).
- Date range you want to be searched for the document.
You then must send your completed form along with payment to:
Fourth Judicial District Court Records Center
Hennepin County Government Center
300 South Sixth Street, #B100
Minneapolis, MN 55487-0332
If the divorce record is a “sealed record,” then you must also send a photocopy of your ID.
The cost for a regular copy is $10 and $16 for a certified copy. You can also choose how you want to receive your documents, via UPS, regular postal service, email, fax or you can even arrange to pick them up.
You may also use an online service like VitalChek to search for and obtain divorce records. They even offer expedited service, and you can pay with a credit card.
Another option is to contact your original divorce lawyer or that of your ex-spouse’s and see if they still have a copy. Attorneys are required by law to keep copies of all legal documents for a specific number of years. If they do not have a copy, they can help you get one through the court system. If you use this method, you may have to pay other legal fees on top of the copy fees.