How to Obtain Birth Certificates in Connecticut
You may find times where you need your birth certificate, and if you have lost the original, you will need a certified copy. Some jobs require it, joining the military, applying for school or a driver’s license are some examples of when you may need it to validate your identity, your age, and your citizenship.
If you were born in Connecticut, you could obtain a copy of your birth certificate by following the steps below.
There are strict laws about who can request a copy of a birth record. The list of who is authorized to obtain a copy is as follows:
- You can get a copy of your own as long as you are 18 or older.
- Your spouse.
- Your children.
- Your parents.
- Your grandparents.
- Your legal guardian.
- Your lawyer.
- A state or federal employee who has written permission.
- A Local Director or Health in the town you were born.
- An elected official in the city you were born.
- A registered genealogist.
In the state of Connecticut, you must request your copy through the mail by first downloading and filling out the application form.
If you are requesting a copy for someone other than yourself, you must also provide proof of the relationship. For example, if you are the parent of the person on record, then you would send in a copy of your birth certificate to show parentage.
You will have to pay a $15 fee for the birth certificate and another $20 for certification. If you request your copy directly from the State Vital Records Office at the Department of Public Health, the fee is $30.
You must pay the fees by money order or certified check.
You also have the option of using an online service such as GoCertiricates.com or VitalChek.com to locate and order a copy of your birth certificate. This service is government-approved for certified copies, and you can order expedited shipping to get them quicker. You may also pay online using a debit or credit card.