How To Obtain a Marriage License or Certificate in West Virginia?
Located in the Eastern part of the United States, West Virginia is another civil war landmark. Many of the buildings stand as living-museums for visitors. If you plan to get married there, you’ll enjoy views of the Appalachian Mountains and the Potomac and Shenandoah rivers.
Rules and Regulations
Before backpacking in the mountains on your honeymoon after tying the knot in West Virginia, you will need to know their rules and regulations for marriage.
- If you reside in West Virginia, you must apply in the county where you live.
- If you are 16-17 years old, you can get married with parental consent.
- If you are younger than 16 years old, you must have court approval to get married.
- If you are 18 or older, you can be married without parental consent.
- You do not have to live in West Virginia to get married there.
- You do not need a blood test.
- You do not need any witnesses.
- Cousin marriage is not allowed for first cousins but is permitted for second and third.
- Same-sex marriage is legal.
How to Apply
You must both apply together, in person at the County Clerk’s office to obtain a marriage license. Bring with you the following paperwork:
- $56 marriage license fee or $36 hours if you have completed a 4-hour pre-marital education class.
- A valid, current ID such as driver’s license, passport, military ID, state ID or green card.
- Both parties social security numbers.
- Mother’s full name and maiden name.
- Father’s full name.
- Mother’s city and state of birth.
- Father’s city and state of birth.
- For previous marriages, only the date of dissolution (divorce or death) is required.
Waiting Period and Expiration
There is no waiting period to get married in West Virginia, and you can be married the same day if you want. However, if you are underage, you must wait three days before getting married. Your marriage license is only good for 60 days so be prepared to set the wedding date accordingly.
Who Can Officiate
Any religious leader who complies with state law, judges, and justices of the court can perform your wedding ceremony.
After the Wedding
If you wish to change your name, you will need to pick up a name change kit for your name change to be legal.
You must return the completed marriage license so it can be filed and recorded. After that, you may request a copy at the County Clerk’s office.