How To Obtain a Marriage License or Certificate in Tennessee?
If you love all things country and want to visit some of the legendary honky-tonk dance halls or the Grand Ole Opry, Tennessee is the place for your wedding! Home to Graceland and Sun Studio, Tennessee is where Elvis hung his hat, making it a fantastic venue for getting married.
Rules and Regulations
Before you blast country music at your reception, you need to learn the rules and regulations for getting married in Tennessee.
- You must be at least 18 years old to get married without parental consent.
- If you are 16-17 years old, you will need your parent's consent (on a signed affidavit) and your birth certificate.
- If you are younger than 16 years old, you will need a signed court order to be married.
- You do not need to live in Tennessee to be married there.
- No blood test is required.
- Cousin marriage is allowed.
- Same-sex marriage is legal.
How to Apply
You must both apply together, in person at the County Clerk’s office to obtain a marriage license. If one of you is incarcerated, you must bring two forms of ID for the incarcerated party and a relative of theirs to sign paperwork on their behalf. Bring with you the following paperwork to complete the application process:
- A $60 fee payable in cash at the time of application unless you have documentation that you finished a pre-marital counseling class less than a year before the date of your wedding.
- Proof of your date of birth (birth certificate).
- Social security number for both parties.
- A valid, current ID such as driver’s license, passport, military ID, state ID or visa.
- Both parties full names.
- Both parties addresses.
- Mother’s full name.
- Father’s full name.
- Mother’s address.
- Father’s address.
- If you have been married before, you will need a copy of your divorce decree.
Waiting Period and Expiration
There is no waiting period to get married after obtaining your license, and you can get married the same day if you want. Your marriage license is only good for 30 days from issuance so be sure to plan your wedding date accordingly.
Who Can Officiate
Any member of the county legislature, ordained ministers, and priests, justices of the peace, judges, governors, and mayors may officiate your marriage ceremony. After the ceremony, your officiate will have only three days, from the date of the wedding to sign and return your marriage license to the county where it was obtained.
After the Wedding
If you wish to change your name, you will need to pick up a name change kit for your name change to be legal.
After your marriage certificate is filed and recorded, you can request a copy from your County Clerk’s office online or by mail.