How To Obtain a Marriage License or Certificate in Minnesota?
Another of the Great Lakes states is Minnesota with over 10,000 lakes for fishing, boating and other fun, water activities. The twin cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul are rich with culture, museums, galleries, and shopping. What a beautiful place to get married and honeymoon!
Rules and Regulations
Before marching down the aisle in Minnesota, you will be required to follow a few rules and regulations.
- You must both be 18 years of age to be married in Minnesota.
- If you are 16-17 years old, you can be married with either parental consent or court approval.
- There is an optional pre-marital course that you can take to reduce the fees for application.
- If you have been married before, you will need to provide details of the dissolution.
- No blood test is required.
- Two witnesses (18 or older) must be present.
- You do not have to be a resident of Minnesota.
- Same-sex marriage is legal.
- Cousin marriage is not allowed.
How to Apply
Both parties need to apply together, in person at the County Recorder’s/Treasurer’s office or a licensed service center. You will need to bring the following paperwork with you at the time of application:
- A current, valid ID such as driver’s license, passport, or state ID.
- $115 fee, or $40 if you have completed the pre-marital education class.
- Both parties, full names (before and after the wedding).
- Both parties addresses (before and after the marriage).
- Both parties ages (validated by ID).
- County where each party resides.
- Date of birth for both people.
- Place of birth for both parties.
- Social security numbers for both people.
- If either person has been married before, bring details of the dissolution (divorce decree or death certificate).
- If either or both parties have felony convictions, additional paperwork is required.
Waiting Period and Expiration
There is no waiting period for getting married in Minnesota; you can be married the same day that you obtain your marriage license if you want.
Your marriage license is valid for six months then it will expire, so plan accordingly to get married within that period.
Who Can Officiate
Anyone with marriage officiates credentials can perform your wedding ceremony in Minnesota. The official who performs your wedding ceremony must sign and return your marriage license to the County Recorder’s office within ten days of the wedding.
After the Wedding
If you wish to change your name, you will need to pick up a name change kit for your name change to be legal. You may request a copy of your marriage certificate after it has been filed and recorded in the office you obtained it. You may also request a copy online.