How To Obtain a Marriage License or Certificate in Florida?
Florida is the sunshine state with miles of breathtaking beaches, summer sports, and cultural nightlife. If you are getting married in Florida, the Latin-American influences of music and sumptuous food will make your special day spectacular.
Rules and Regulations
There are a few rules and regulations to be aware of before getting married in Florida.
- The legal age requiring parental consent is 16.
- You must be 18 years old without parental consent.
- No blood test required.
- Same-sex marriage is legal.
- Both parties need to be present to apply.
- You do not have to reside in Florida to be married there.
- Cousin marriages are allowed.
- There is an optional pre-marital course you can take to waive the waiting period and reduce the fees.
How to Apply
Both parties must appear in person at the county clerk’s office to apply for a marriage license. You will need to bring your social security number along with the following paperwork:
- A valid government-issued ID (driver’s license, passport, state ID)
- If 16 years old, bring your birth certificate.
- The fee of $93.50 can be reduced by $32.50 if you complete the pre-marital course, of-fered by the state.
Both parties must read the “Family Law Handbook” before receiving their marriage license.
Waiting Period and Expiration
There is a 3-day waiting period before you can get married. If you complete the licensed pre-marital course, that term is waived. You must be married within 60 days after you obtain your marriage license.
Who Can Officiate
There are a variety of types of people that can solemnize your wedding ceremony, such as:
- Ordained ministers & other clergy members.
- Judicial officers.
- Public notaries.
After the Wedding
After you get married, if you want a copy of your marriage certificate, you can obtain one by using the Florida search website and ordering a copy. Also, if you wish to change your name, you will need to pick up a name change kit for your name change to be legal.