How to Obtain a Marriage License or Certificate in Alabama?
Alabama is steeped in rich civil rights history abundant with interesting landmarks making it a perfect place to get married. You will, however, need to know the laws and regulations before marching down the aisle in the state of Alabama.
Rules and Regulations
There is no waiting period, and you do not need witnesses, blood tests nor do you need to reside in Alabama to get married there. However, here is what you do need to know.
- You must be at least 16-years of age (with parental consent)
- You must be at least 19 years old (no consent necessary)
- You must not be first cousins
- Same-sex marriage is legal
If you are 16-19 years old, contact your county office to find out the specific requirements before applying.
The probate judge for each county will issue your marriage license, and the fee will be between $40-$80. They are valid for only 30 days.
You and your spouse-to-be must appear in person to apply and validate your identity with one of the following forms of ID, plus your social security card.
- A valid driver’s license
- Non-driver’s license
- A copy of your birth certificate certified by the State or County
- A military ID
- A certified school record
Although there is no waiting period after applying for a marriage license, if you are divorced, you need to wait for at least 60-days before applying to be re-married unless you are re-marrying your divorced spouse.
You will need to provide proper documentation of the divorce at the time of application. If you require help finding the right paperwork, you can search for birth, death, marriage, and divorce records at CourtRecords.org.
If you plan on changing your name, it is not enough to just apply for the marriage license. You will need to obtain a marriage name change kit and file that as well.
Who Can Officiate?
In the historical state of Alabama, licensed ministers and pastors along with current or retired judges are permitted to officiate at wedding ceremonies.
Get a Copy
You can request a copy of your marriage certificate after it is filed with the Alabama Center for Health Statistics. You can obtain copies of birth, death and marriage certificates there also for a small fee.