How to Appeal a Court’s Decision in Utah?
If your court case was held in Utah and you are unsatisfied with the final judgment, you can ap-peal. You first have to file a notice of appeal.
Notice of Appeal
In most counties, you have thirty days to file your appeal, but some allow less time, like only twenty days so hurry. Your notice of appeal needs to include the following information:
- Name and address of all parties.
- Court where your case was held.
- Case number.
- Appellate court you are appealing to.
- $225 filing fee due at the time of filing.
You must pay a filing fee and a cost bond in the amount of $300 when you file your notice of appeal.
You have only ten days after filing your notice of appeal to request a transcript of the case.
You may also request to present an oral argument to support your case. The court will schedule your presentation, and you will have only thirty minutes to present your oral argument.
The next step is to prepare and file your brief. You have only forty days to file your appellant brief. In it, you need to specify the reason for the appeal, state your arguments and support each one with case documents or precedent cases. Your brief must include the following information:
- Table of contents.
- List of all related cases.
- Statement of the facts.
- Arguments supported by case law and precedent.
- Appendix with all supporting documentation.
The appellee has thirty days to file their brief following the receipt of yours. Then you have another thirty days to file a reply brief if you want.
A panel of three judges will review all the paperwork and oral arguments and come to a deci-sion. Their final opinion will be published in writing, and you will receive a copy. This process can take weeks or even months for complex cases.
If after you receive the judgment, you are still not happy, you can petition to have the case reviewed again in the same court or take it higher to the Supreme Court.